The Chronicles of Chronicles (I Bet Some Of You Thought I Was Going To Call It ‘The Chronicles Of Nadia! LOL)

Unknown

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhh!

For a while I’ve had my notes on Chronicles but no clue as to what to do with them (in terms of formatting and writing style). The procrastination has made the task at hand seem bigger than what it really is. As a result, I thought it best to lock myself in my room and refuse to leave…unless the doorbell rings…or the fridge calls me…or the cat meows for food…

So note: There will be no redrafts or moments of reflection. It’s just pure wingin’ it baby!

This book records the decedents of Gods chosen people and how the land was distributed to them. Upon reading the lineage, I couldn’t help but imagine a colony of ants made to live, work, war and die. It’s as though they knew no other way but to fight- Chronicles 1 chapter 7 illustrates this well and Chapter 9 reinforces how everyone was delighted roles to ensure the tribe was kept a well oiled machine.

Moving on to 1 Chronicles 14:15-17 I can’t help but think, although God had his chosen people, what were his feelings towards other nations? Did they feel close to him? Did they feel loved? We’re they given the same opportunities as the Israelites? God striking the Philistines so the Israelites could get a head start suggest other. Moreover, if this depiction is applicable to today’s world, am I an Israelite or part of another camp? I’d like to be a chosen person, but is that entirely up to me or does my culture and the nation born to predetermine the aforementioned? I have my own hazy answer (which I think will become clearer as I read on), but I felt it right o write this to let at readers who’ve ever had this question, that they are not alone.

Skipping to another topic- whoever said we can’t have drums in church? This debate does annoy me somewhat as I feel it’s an excuse for proceeding generations to be pharisaic. Dotted throughout 1 Chronicles Chapters 15 and 16 imply the loud, resounding noises of joy and praise to the Lord. So to all you gifted musicians, I say if life isn’t going so well for you at the mo and you’re finding the Christ walk tough, when you get to church, bang, strum and scream like never before! It’s good therapy and a great way of exemplifying your strength and refusal to have joy stolen from you.

Now briskly journeying through to 1 Chronicles chapter 17 vs 3-5, God tells Nathan that he has not been dwelling in one house but visiting from tent to tent. This to me implies that we as individuals are sanctuaries and should be mindful of what we consume if our bodies are God’s temples. That being said, why did God have Moses build a sanctuary and Solomon build a temple? Was he ever really dwelling in them? Or were they to stand as tangible, metaphorical sites for people to see just how much God values us as his temples? It almost makes David’s words in 1Chronicles 27&28 seem redundant otherwise.

Just as a side note, just thought I’d mention before I forget, that From 1 chronicles 5 onwards I switched from KJV to the world English translation after a recommendation from a friend- its a pretty good version. Now back to the core of the blog…

Moving onto the second booky- wook: Reading 2Chronicles chapter 21 vs 15, I wondered again why God old allow someone to die slowly? Why allow someone’s bowls to fall out? Why not jut smite them quickly and humanely?

Jumping back a bit to 2 Chronicles chapter 2 vs 12-28 Im touched by Davids faith in his son. Considering God said David was a man after his own heart, in theory Solomon would be closest to the character of Jesus, which makes it all the more disappointing for me to not help but notice that Solomon’s life draws parallels with our 1920’s gangster hero. He has it all (materialistic ally) he has street smarts but women and pride soon get in the way of his gift of wisdom and he looses it all.

Earlier in the blog I mentioned that Chronicles recorded a list of descendants that were Gods chose people. Expanding on this point, I’d say I noticed (particularly in 2 Chronicles) that many of the Kings were children. Manasseh for instance was only 12 and yet was seen evil in the sight of God. Is it possible to be independently evil at such a young age? Especially when you consider that although being King, the CHILD would have had a crowd of advisors probably telling him to keep the God’s of Baal, etc. Is his name tag then fair? And in God’s eyes, when does one stop being a child?

Having reached the end of Chronicles, I saw red. Perhaps out of anger, or perhaps out of reading on all the bloodshed. Here’s to hoping my questions will be answered in one way or another and even moreso, hoping the next book will enable me to find the peace I’m looking for.

Until Ezra…

X

20111207-164025.jpg

2 Comments Add yours

  1. According to Jewish tradition, 12 is the age when boys become men. Also, I can clearly recall the way that I thought and understood things when I was 12, and I had a clear understand of what right and wrong was.

    Manasseh’s father was also Hezekiah, a king who sought the Lord. Manasseh would have known the choices he was making. It also reads that Manasseh repented eventually as well. Repentance implies that he sought God and made things right, so Manasseh had to be aware of what he had done.

    I love reading your new thoughts each time. I will be honest, it has been a long time since I read the Chronicles, and so I definitely need to go back and refresh my memory!

    One thought I do have – if we are made in the image of God, wouldn’t it make sense that He has the same emotions and feelings that we do? If someone we love has been wronged, how many times do we say that we want that person to die a slow, cruel death? Perhaps, in Jehoram’s case, the only way he could even comprehend the evil he had done was to die like that.

    In some ways, wouldn’t it be better to have a long, slow, death where there would be plenty of opportunities for repentance, than a quick, sudden, death where there were no more chances?

    I don’t know if that’s the answer or not, we unfortunately can’t grasp every thought or motivation that God has, but maybe it’s a reason . . .

  2. Hi Rebekah!

    Thanks for your insightful and encouraging feedback. Am looking forward to getting your thoughts on my Ezra blog when it get’s here x

Leave a Reply

