Power in Proverbs

thinking-pic

It’s been a LONG, LONG while and here’s why. For a portion of the time, I decided to rekindle my most personal relationship with God. All thoughts were jotted in a journal, which I’m not, at this point, brave enough to share (it seems my emotions fail to keep up with my writing).

However, in this very blue-to-grey-to-black-to-bleak-to-Monae painting of a time, I ploughed through proverbs. I’d be lying if i said all day were as easy as each other. Amidst the thunderous clouds, I lost inspiration (which is kind of ironic when considering the book I was reading). Nevertheless, I am convinced that Proverbs sets a standard of learning by doing, and I believe this blog is only the tip of the ice burg in regards to my discoveries (hence why you’ve only got a few more paragraphs to read).

Firstly, I have to say, this book did make me smile! After reading the Kings, I realise, I never fully understood Sol’s character until I came to Proverbs; I came to appreciate him as a phenomenal writer. Thanks to the pattern in his poetry, it’s as if  I could discern his tones and the way in which he spoke; I could see him on his death bed, using all his strength to muster each line, and just when Rehoboam (his son) thinks Dad has taken his last breath, Sol’s eyes pop open, he sits up and shouts; “oh yeah! And one more thing!”

I love the short sharp shocks each verse delivers; how so few words transcend into a millions different contexts, and yet, hold the same value.

However, as great as this all is, I have to be honest. A question rang through my ears when reading some of Kings and much of Proverbs: In the bible, we read much, if not all of each book from the view of a man. Even Proverbs 31- a delicate and romantic book (written by a guy who played the field and evidently felt a little guilty about it) was inspired by a mans opinion of woman. If we’re all equal in God’s eyes, then why is it women never seem to be valued or given the same light as men. And no! Before a daggers fly, I must say, this is not me alluding to the idea that we do not have different roles, nor is it me suggesting that submission is a farce. All I’m saying is that it’s evident that one gender cannot live without the other, so where’s Bathsheba’s story as told by Bathsheba? Where’s Mary’s story as told by Mary? If Esther can save the people, why can’t she write her own book?

If Proverbs 31 is true, then why don’t enough alleged Christian men live by what it says?

I’m just not so sure anymore. The bible, no doubt, holds truth…but truth in the wrong hands truth can be deadly. I wish there were more women involved.

Until the next book…

Nadia 🙂

Leave a Reply

